Potatoes planted, yard cleaned.

So yesterday didn’t end up being as nice out as I originally thought it would be. I spent the morning running around in town getting groceries and sheep manure and peat moss. I ended up filling the back of the ranger completely! 

Image

Came home and looked at my big project – behind the sheds.

Image
Piled with rotting wood, garbage, old pots, bags and did I mention actual garbage?

So for a while now I’ve been thinking about getting in there and getting rid of all of the junk behind the sheds. It’s not really that noticeable unless you look but I know it’s there and I was always worried the dogs would venture back there and step on something sharp and get hurt.

I spent almost eight hours dragging out old lumber (barely any will be usable, most of it is way too rotten), I found old blankets, hairspray bottles, household trash, broken glass, a golf club, a smashed glass aquarium, old tubes, hoses and pipes, supermarket plastic bags, a broken smoke detector, metal pipes… oh yeah.
Five garbage bags full, got the burn barrel chugging away again and stood all the lumber up to dry so we can assess if any can be salvaged to used for our raised garden beds. 

Image
Wood I thought may be salvageable – the rest went into the burn barrel/wheel barrow to be burned.
Image
Truck loaded
Image
more wood
Image
complete!
Image
More wood…
Image
Cleaned and raked! So much space!!!!

Then after that big project I sat for a bit with some water and then unloaded the truck and poured the manure and peat moss (some of it I saved) on the garden and Evan offered to till it in. 

Mike came home with two green barrels which we are experimenting by using them as potato planters. Many people have said use a barrel, drill holes in the side and bottom, line with straw and add dirt, then add potato seeds (we only had a bag I got from the hardware store but then we found a box of our own potatoes we had forgotten about that had already started to seed – jackpot! I planted, watered, added more dirt, manure and peat and voila! Now when the green stalks are about a foot high we are to bury it 2/3s and so on and so forth. We are TOLD. that the stalk will turn into more potatoes. We are optimistic. They look better than I thought they would and I’m excited to try something new. 

Image
our perfect potato planters!
Image
planting started!
Image
Composter!

Mike then loaded up the truck with the garbage and I began the weeding of around the pond. 

Thursday our wood will be coming… uh oh. 8 cord to be cut, split and stacked. Yes it really is spring.

 

Image
Nice place to relax and enjoy our efforts at the end of a day.
Image
Tilled and ready to be rowed
Image
Next big project
Image
After being wed.
Image
Untouched, over grown
Image
Our Cucumber patch
Image
Never Far away
Image
Baxter is also impressed.

Leave a Reply

