Healthy & Happy Menu

Happy Monday to all you happy bloggers!
I believe I’ve previously mentioned that Monday is my Saturday. So Today between laundry (three loads!), dehydrating apple chips for snacking this week, Cleaning the kitchen, making supper, doing dishes and preparing for – dum dum dummmm – Tax time.

Here is Lexxi, Helping out with the blog!

0-6

Laundry take 3!
0-5

My Dehydrator from Lee Valley (Best purchase ever!) 4 level trays and a plastic insert for making fruit roll up/leather.

0-3

Fortunately this soup tastes better than it looks!0-1

Finished product – Apple chips… after having some … okay a lot 🙂0-2

My favourite show is come dine with me Canada and it is on tonight! So I always get a little inspired Mondays for supper. A couple weeks ago they had a carrot curry soup so tonight I’m making a carrot/turnip curry soup topped with fresh parmesan and green onions. I added some light cream, salt, pepper, minced garlic and of course some extra curry. After boiling the carrots  and turnip in water I drained it. added chicken broth, blended it into a soupy mixture, added the garlic, curry, pepper, salt and light cream. Then I added a bit more curry and chicken broth.
Just had some and it was delish!
Now for desert – I decided to make chai meringues. Because I like desert and they are… 5 calories each. FIVE. CALORIES. EACH.
Did I mention they are only 5 calories each? How incredible. Each recipe will make 30-35 meringues. This is the recipe. I have separated my eggs… only a couple bits of yolk in the white – oops!!!… and I’m currently waiting for them to warm to room temperature. Did I mention I decided to double the recipe? I did. so here is the actual recipe but I will be doubling it.

Here is the Ingredient list:
2 egg whites, room temperature
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon fresh lemon juice or cream of tartar
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon ground cardamom
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
3 tablespoons brown sugar

I don’t have ground cardamom. So I will not be adding it. I’m sure it will still be awesome so here we go!

Preheat oven to 300 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites, salt, and lemon juice or cream of tarter until soft peaks begin to form – this takes about 3 minutes. Add the spices and sugar (one tablespoon at a time) and continue to beat for another few minutes, until the meringue is stiff and can stand up on its own.



 Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden and crisp, and then let the meringues cool. Sprinkle with cinnamon, if desired – enjoy!

IMG_3408 IMG_3415-1

Those are the pictures the website provided… Here was my adventure….

Any opportunity to use my kitchen aid mixer makes me happy…

0-4

Whip it! here we go, getting it all whipped up.
0-7

On the paper – looks similar to what the other picture shows… right?0-8

0-9

After cooking it for the specified 25 minute cook time this is the finish product – and the unfinished product was delish! The finished meringues tasted good around the edges and a tad squishy inside… that being said they have mostly been all eaten but next time I would make them a bit smaller.

Leave a Reply

